Being a “Missional Mom”

It never ceases to amaze me at how my life can seem to fill itself up with busyness even when I am not trying. Even the to do list of a stay at home mom can become long and full and taking a break for a simple pleasure like blogging is not always easy. But I realize how much writing refreshes me and that I need to do it more often…at least until something (or someone) calls me away.

My most recent read is a book called The Missional Mom (thanks to Ron Edmondson who shared it on his blog). It is a refreshing look at the job of being a Christian Mom, a big part of my job description these days. In its early chapters, author Helen Lee emphasizes the responsibility that each of us have to share the love of Christ with others. In short, all Christians are missionaries in the world and are called to share Christ with others at work, school and in the world. So basically, my job as a mom in a household of Christians is to care for “my missionaries.” I love what Helen Lee says about the job of a mom in caring for her “missional outpost.”

Seeing the home as the family’s mission base also gives mothers a better perspective on the activities and tasks that go on inside their homes. Each household activity can serve as an important channel for fulfilling the mission God has given us. Even the most mundane task – changing a diaper, doing laundry, cleaning a bathroom – can be seen as having eternal value. Any activity that contributes to the larger misson of supporting the “missionaries” in your family can be a sacred act as you undertake the activity with God to advance your family’s God-given mission. When motherhood becomes more missional, we see much more clearly how our activities play a part in God’s redemptive work in our fallen world. (Page 27)

The Missional Mom is a very insightful and challenging book! I recommend it as a great read for all Christians regardless of whether you are a mom or not. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Being a “Missional Mom”

  1. JMac

    Thank you, Helen! Your book has so many wonderful and convicting insights on my responsibilities as a Christian. The deeper I get into it, the more I love it. Thank you for taking time to put all of your learnings on paper for us (and thanks to your family for their patience while you did it)!

  2. Thank you so much for this review! I appreciate that you took time to read the book and write about it on your blog! Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

