Monday Morning Learnings — Others First

Mondays for me are more like my Sabbath than Sundays.  As a family we so love being involved in what’s happening at our church, that I’m lucky to sneak in an hour for my ritualistic Sunday afternoon nap.  We usually head out the door at about 9 AM and yesterday we were home from church at 2 PM and the girls were out the door at 3:45 for their evening youth group activities which had us back at the house by 8 PM.  If you are looking for a good day to rob our house, Sunday is your best bet.

Mondays are my chance to recoup and absorb.  I love just being quiet and being with God.  This weekend I came across one of my favorite (convicting) chapters in the Bible as it is translated in The Message.  Romans 12.

If you preach, just preach God’s Message, nothing else; if you help, just help, don’t take over; if you teach, stick to your teaching; if you give encouraging guidance, be careful that you don’t get bossy; if you’re put in charge, don’t manipulate; if you’re called to give aid to people in distress, keep your eyes open and be quick to respond; if you work with the disadvantaged, don’t let yourself get irritated with them or depressed by them. Keep a smile on your face.

Love from the center of who you are; don’t fake it. Run for dear life from evil; hold on for dear life to good. Be good friends who love deeply; practice playing second fiddle.

Don’t burn out; keep yourselves fueled and aflame. Be alert servants of the Master, cheerfully expectant. Don’t quit in hard times; pray all the harder. Help needy Christians; be inventive in hospitality.

Bless your enemies; no cursing under your breath. Laugh with your happy friends when they’re happy; share tears when they’re down. Get along with each other; don’t be stuck-up. Make friends with nobodies; don’t be the great somebody.

Don’t hit back; discover beauty in everyone. If you’ve got it in you, get along with everybody. Don’t insist on getting even; that’s not for you to do. “I’ll do the judging,” says God. “I’ll take care of it.”

Our Scriptures tell us that if you see your enemy hungry, go buy that person lunch, or if he’s thirsty, get him a drink. Your generosity will surprise him with goodness. Don’t let evil get the best of you; get the best of evil by doing good.

There are so many rich life lessons in this chapter.  I love reminding my 3 year olds of verse 17 when there is a battle over a toy.  “Look the Bible says “don’t hit back.” But alas that doesn’t always work.

The big take away for me in this chapter:  If I am truly living as God calls me to then I need to be intentionally stepping into others worlds.  I need to put their needs and interests before my desires.  God sent His son to do exactly that; to step into our lives so that He could connect with us, show us that we are loved and have a relationship with us.

There are a couple of good blogs this morning that I came across which brought this all together for me.  Its something I’ll be working on this week.

The Incarnational Principle of Leadership, by Michael Hyatt

http://michaelhyatt.com/the-incarnational-principle-of-leadership.html

Parents in Transistion, by Reggie Joiner

http://www.orangeparents.org/parents-in-transition/

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Monday Morning Learnings — Others First

  1. Isabel P Sem

    I always get so much from your blog. It lifts my soul plus gives me so much about which to think. My Silver Sombrero Sisters Circle has grown to around 24 ladies, all very talented and wanting to serve.
    My greatest challenge with the Christmas event we are doing Dec 7 is to be the one that makes sure those in charge of decorations or desserts do not allow others to change what has already been decided by the decoration committee, etc.
    Requires a lot of listening on my part and being diplomatic how I respond during the discussion.
    What is so great is that all end up working together and realize that our mission is to glorify God and celebrate the birth of Jesus.
    Thanks for sharing the other blogs.
    Love you.

Leave a Reply

