God’s Discipline

As I headed home from dropping my high schooler off this morning, I saw the most beautiful sunrise.

The radio announcer was reflecting on a conversation he had with a friend regarding God’s discipline in our lives.

Many times when we go through rough times in our lives we see it as God punishing us for past sins or mistakes.

He went on to say that actually the word discipline is better seen as God shaping or building us for something stronger. Much like discipline in the Army or in sports. This discipline is preparing us for the next level…where God wants to take us so that we can more effectively serve Him.

Websters says it this way: “training that corrects, molds, or perfects the mental faculties or moral character.”

I would also add discipline is a process that strengthens us and draws us closer to Him.

Today I looked back on my life and wondered how many times I have mistaken God’s discipline (His refiner’s fine) as punishment for mistakes and failures, instead of seeing it as an opportunity for God to take to me to the next level in my walk with Him.

Hebrews 12:7-10

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

