The Need to Be in Control

My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in your weakness.
2 Corinthians 12:9

One of the things that I have struggled with throughout my life is the need to be in control. I think this is why I will never make a good management candidate. I have a very hard time letting go. I guess I feel if I have my hands or my input on a process or project then I know it will come out ok, and if it doesn’t then I did my best and the only one to blame is me.

I also believe this need to be in control is genetic. I inherited it from my mother. I remember times in my childhood when I would confide in her about a problem I was having at school or with a particular situation. She would immediately jump in and try to solve it for me – meeting with teachers or other parties who had power to resolve the problem. In most cases, this usually just made things worse. Most of the time, I just needed to have her listen while I talked through what I was concerned about.

I think the lessons of my youth have made me a more hands off parent than my kids would sometimes like. When they complain about kids cursing on the bus instead of trying to change that, I remind them that they will always encounter people who curse in life and they need learn how to “live in the world, but not be of the world.” And think of the opportunities that they have to share Christ with their unsaved friends on their way to and from school. God might be opening doors for them that they would be missing out on if I drove them to school everyday!

But when it comes to my work and my friends, I have a lot of growing to do with regards to giving God control and not getting in his way. One of the sermons that has resonated most with me since I’ve been in South Florida was preached by Pastor Tom Albright on one of our first weeks at Church by the Glades. Tom talked about how powerful the Kingdom of God was because of the entire team of Christians that God uses to accomplish His Will. When I am powerless to affect change in a particular situation I need to pray that God will “use the whole team” to accomplish His Will in His Time. I like the idea that God can use other Christians that I may not even know to answer my prayers.

That requires me to be willing to give it all over to God. To have complete trust and faith to let go and let God have control. It means that even though I may not be able to see the result, I need to have faith that God is using others on “the team” to answer my prayers and to accomplish His Will, in His Time and for His Glory.

And for me it may mean accepting the feeling of being powerless to affect change.

While getting involved makes me feel better, in most cases, it usually makes things worse.   And I’m sure it causes God a lot of extra work making up for the additional problems I generate when I try “to help Him” answer my prayers.  It is one of the many weaknesses that God is continuing to work on in me and I am reminded that if I don’t spend time with Him everyday, Satan will surely use my weaknesses to defeat me.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Need to Be in Control

  1. I’ve been clinging so tightly to the first part of 2 Corinthians 12:9 that I’ve paid little attention to the fact that God’s power is made perfect in my weakness. Thanks for sharing. And thank You God that your power really is perfect!

Leave a Reply

