Contentment

In my Character Makeover book, this week’s study was focused on Contentment.  As I started this week, I was wondering how much I really needed to focus on this character trait and by the end of this week, I figured it out… a lot.

Some quotes from my book this week:

We spend more but have less; we buy more but enjoy it less; we have more conveniences, yet less time; more leisure and less fun; we have more knowledge but less judgment; we have more gadgets, but less satisfaction; more medicine, yet less wellness.  We spend too recklessly; laugh too little; drive too fast; get angry too quickly; stay up too late; get too tired; read too little; watch TV too much; pray too seldom.

We have multiplied our possessions, but reduced our values; we talk too much, love too little and lie too often.  We’ve learned to rush, but not to wait; we have more parties, but less fun; more acquaintances, but fewer friends.  These are times of fancier houses, but broken homes; higher incomes, but lower morals.  We’ve learned how to make a living, but not a life; we’ve added years to our life, not life to our years.  — The Paradox of our Age by:  Bob Moorehead in Words Aptly Spoken

To experience happiness, we must train ourselves to live in this moment, to savor it for what it is, not running ahead in anticipation of some future date nor lagging behind in the paralysis of the past.  – Luci Swindoll

These last few months have been a stripping away of a lot of things for me.  As I was reading back over some journal entries from the last few months, it has been a time of letting go of my past and moving on to the future work that God has for me here.  It has not been an easy time and I imagine it will be a work that God needs to continue for some time to come.  But in order to live in the present, I know I need to let go of my past.  In Texas, I was blessed with many wonderful friends and a great job that helped shape and make me who I am today, but now I must let go of them and move forward.  Easier said than done.

Moving forward for me must focus more on being thankful for what I have in the here and now: a wonderful family, a great church, and some downtime to reflect on what is important.  This is time of transition that God is using to shape me into who he needs me to be in order to be aligned with His will for my life.

As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:9

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

